Tuesday, August 4, 2015

A real treat from The Ice Cream Man!

Alright, my friends. I've got something amazing for you today! If you're not already a fan of The Ice Cream Man Power Pop and More blog and radio shows, you need to become one immediately! This is a great platform for discovering fantastic new bands in the realm of power pop, mod, '60s garage, etc. And now The Ice Cream Man himself, Wayne Lundqvist Ford, has compiled a massive 107-track compilation called Got It Licked that you can download for free. No, that was not a typo. That's 107 songs...for FREE! I've featured a number of these artists (The Sensibles, Nick Piunti, The Cry!) on the blog before, but there are lots of great bands on this collection that are totally new to me. And top veteran acts like The Yum Yums and Stoneage Hearts make appearances as well. If you have a few hours to sit down and really dig into this compilation, you'll feel like a kid in a candy store. And for such an immense collection of songs, the consistent quality of these tracks is really remarkable. The Ice Cream Man has done an incredible job of selecting first-rate tunes from all of these bands. And he's included links to the bands' Facebook pages in the event that you want to hear more. I've discovered a ton of new bands that I need to check out, and I hope you will as well! The free version of this collection is being hosted by the Futureman Records Bandcamp. If you like power pop, you've got to check it out! And don't miss the new episode of The Ice Cream Man Power Pop and More radio show!


1 comment:

Indiggy said...

Thanks for highlighting this great release F&L - tons of great tunes to discover